The fatness

I’ve changed quite a bit since Summer.

I would have been the first to admit that I hadn’t encountered much in the way of Joy in my life. I kind of knew academically that it was important what with the joy of the Lord literally being strength and whatnot. I suppose I arrived to Redding, California, weak and malnourished.

I was working through some of the BSSM homework and came across a little line in the Seeds of Revival journal which asks you to reference Ephesians 5:22-23 and ask Holy Spirit to highlight one of the fruits of the Spirit to focus on regarding my personal growth. He highlighted joy to me.

Joy is an interesting thing. Everything that is a dispensation is dramatically interesting and mystical in nature but joy specifically is a really raucously special deal.

One of my first real encounters with the Joy of the Lord was at David’s Tent (a 72 hour continuous, unceasing worship event in the UK) in 2014. I spent hours and hours and hours and hours in the presence of God and then almost without me knowing it He dropped a single droplet of the Joy of the Lord into my heart and it began to heal me and started bringing parts of my heart – that I thought I’d let die – back to life. I cry/laughed for 2 hours in the dirt and I was undone. My hunger for Him outweighed how much I wanted people to think whatever I wanted people to think of me at the time.

Hearing me talk about the Joy of the Lord like it’s foreign to me probably sounds a little weird to the people I go to supernatural school with. I’ve become much more familiar with the Joy of the Lord since school started.

Anyway, I very recently stumbled accidentally across Isaiah 55. I read it in the NIV and was about to move on when I felt Holy Spirit tell me to pay closer attention to the chapter so I got my AMP and settled in for a bit. I spent the majority of my time inside of verse 2: Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread, and your earnings for what does not satisfy? Hearken diligently to Me, and eat what is good, and let your soul delight itself in fatness. [the profuseness of spiritual joy]

Can we just live inside of that scripture for a minute? Let’s just take a window in time to spend ourselves on what’s good and let’s take a minute to look through the window of scripture at the invitation that exists in the heart of God here. Slow down… slow waaaaaay dowwwnnn…

Why do you spend yourself on things that don’t even solve the problem you’re using them to address?

Let your soul (don’t stop it, don’t hinder it, let it) Let your soul delight itself on that which is good.

Let your soul delight itself in the profuseness of spiritual joy.

The fatness. The profuse fatness.

I just prayed that God would imbue this post with an impartation of the profuse fatness of His supernatural, spiritual JOY. HAHAHA The thing that has the power to break chains, heal hearts, shift paradigms and just generally improve everything that exists. How will you know you encountered His Joy? Generally, I’d say you laugh or cry or both at the same time. You might know why. You might not. God doesn’t have to make complete rational sense to your mind. He’s way more fun than that.

If you encounter(ed) the Joy of the Lord while reading this post please let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “The fatness

Leave a Reply

