Yeah yeah, but… what do YOU wanna do?

Here’s something I wrote on June 8th, 2015:

I knew I’d have to leave the UK in January as my visa was due to expire. I was becoming anxious about it as the whole thing felt like a huge unknown which wasn’t normal for me. I had been praying, “Whatever You got, I’m down.” and He’d been clearly showing me where to go, when to step, etc. up until this point. So when I started asking Him in December of 2014 what we were gonna be doing in 2015 I was a little shocked by His response:

“What do YOU wanna do?”

“Y’know, whatever You’ve got for me, I’m down. Let’s just do Your thing. You just tell me what it is and I’ll do it.”

“Yeah yeah, but… what do YOU wanna do?”

“What do you mean? I wanna do what You have for me to…”

“No but like, what do YOU wanna do?”

“Uh… I don’t know, we’ve been doing whatever You say for like 2 years!”

“Yup. Well, I’ll tell you what: Whatever YOU want to do, we’ll do THAT.”

“I had better ask for the right thing then, eh?”

Obedience had rounded the corner into friendship and I needed to get in touch with the desires of my heart. As I did and began to ask for the desires of my heart, He began to put me through the process to give me what I’d asked for. It looked at first like abject ruin…

Leave a Reply

